South Carolina loses more than $1 billion every year due to car accidents, with experts estimating the loss is actually much higher due to the productivity lost (because people who get into accidents miss work).
And there a bigger loss: 1,020 people lost their lives in car accidents in South Carolina in 2016.
But you don’t have to be a part of those statistics! We’ve got some vital safety info below to keep you and your loved ones safe:
South Carolina Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
Infants and toddlers, under the age of 24 months, must travel in a rear-facing seat, according to the South Carolina law. The seat must meet federal safety standards.
South Carolina Forward-facing Car Seat Law
South Carolina law says children between the age of 2 to 4, or children who have outgrown the rear-facing car seat will travel in a forward-facing car seat. Forward-facing seat will be used until the child exceeds the weight and height limit of the seat.
Child Booster Seat Laws in South Carolina
Children who are at least 4 and have exceeded the upper height and weight limit of the forward-facing car seat must be secured in a booster seat. The booster seat will be used with a lap-shoulder belt and until the child is ready to use the adult seat belt safely. A booster seat will be used until the child is at least eight years of age or at least fifty-seven (57) inches tall.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, your child can sit in the front seat if the car has no back seat. Your child can also sit in the front seat if they are older than 8 years and using a proper restraint system.
Leaving Child in Car Law in South Carolina
There is no law in South Carolina regarding leaving in the car unattended, however, it is still possible to get charged with child neglect if the officer thinks you have put the life of the child in danger.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in South Carolina?
There are no laws in South Carolina related to smoking with a child passenger.
Taxi Car Seat Law in South Carolina
Taxis are required to follow child restraint laws in South Carolina.
South Carolina Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
South Carolina doesn’t have laws about the replacement of car seats in the case of an accident. It is recommended by experts that you should replace your car seat after a major car accident. Car safety seats lose their structural integrity after crash and can prove fatal for your child.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in South Carolina
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
Good Car Seat Videos for South Carolinian Parents
The Michele and Brooke Ice Story
Car Seat save lives
It's time we all get it right
Child Passenger Safety - 5 Step Test
Cincinnati Children's How to Install a Car Seat
When a Child Can Move Out of a Booster Seat
General Safety Tips for Car Seats
Counterfeit Car Seats
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in South Carolina
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.