Did you know that in 2015, 5,291 children were involved in fatal crashes in the USA, and 18% of them were unrestrained? Your children are dependent on you for providing safety on the road. Please follow state laws to ensure your child’s safety.
Massachusetts Car Seat Law
Laws in Massachusetts require every child under the age of 8 traveling in a child restraint system. According to the Section 7AA:
“A passenger in a motor vehicle on anyway who is under the age of 8 shall be fastened and secured by a child passenger restraint, unless such passenger measures more than 57 inches in height. The child passenger restraint shall be properly fastened and secured according to the manufacturer's instructions.” (Source)
Not following the child restraint law in Massachusetts is punishable by $25.
Massachusetts Rear-facing Car Seat Law
There is no preference for the rear-facing seat in Massachusetts. According to law, children ages 7 and younger and less than 57 inches tall must ride in a child safety seat. According to experts, children under 2 years old should ride in a rear-facing car seat.
Massachusetts forward-facing Car Seat Law
When a child outgrows the rear-facing car seat’s height and weight limit prescribed by the seat manufacturer, they can graduate to a forward-facing seat.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Massachusetts
“No child under the age of eight and measuring less than fifty-seven inches shall ride as a passenger in a motor vehicle on any way unless such child is properly fastened and secured, according to the manufacturers’ instructions, by a child passenger restraint”.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Massachusetts?
Although no age is mentioned in the law, the Massachusetts government recommends that your child use front seat after they have turned 13.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Massachusetts
The law is not very clear about leaving children in the car. 606 CMR 7.13(3)(j) is for daycare providers and it says “a child must never be left unattended in a vehicle” (Source) It is not clear if the law applies to private vehicles too.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts is trying to make it a criminal act to smoke in a car with child passenger. As for now, it is not illegal.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Massachusetts
Child restraint laws do not apply to taxi drivers in Massachusetts.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Massachusetts
Good Car Seat Videos for Bay Stater Parents
Car Seats Save Lives
Child Seats – MA Highway Safety
How to secure your car seat
How to Install a Car Seat
Car seat check: An easy guide
Car Seat Safety
When a Child Can Move Out of a Booster Seat
General Safety Tips for Car Seats
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Infant car seat installation
Resources for More Info on Massachusetts Car Seat Safety
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.