Tennessee had 208,605 car crashes in 2018 and almost 1,000 of them were fatal.
But you don’t have to be part of those statistics. We’ve got some vital info below on how to keep you and your little ones safe:
Tennessee Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
Tennessee law states that all infants and toddlers under the age of 12 months and who weigh 20 or fewer pounds, must be secured in a rear-facing or infant-only car seat.
Tennessee Forward-facing Car Seat Law
According to the Tennessee law, Children under the age of 3, who weigh more than 20 pounds shall be secured in a forward-facing car seat.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Tennessee
From 4 years of age until they are under 8 years and no taller than 4 feet 9 inch, children must be secured in a booster seat.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Tennessee?
Tennessee law says that your child should sit in the back seat until the age of 8. Tennessee High Office safety recommends that your child should sit in the back seat until they are 13.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Tennessee
It is illegal to leave a child in a car when:
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Tennessee?
There are no laws in Tennessee regarding smoking with child passengers.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Tennessee
Taxis are exempt from child restraint laws in Tennessee but it’s their responsibility to let parents use a child restraint system if they want. (Source)
Tennessee Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
There are no guidelines in Tennessee law regarding seat replacement. You can always follow the seat manual for further instructions.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Tennessee
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
Good Car Seat Videos for Tennessean Parents
Franklin Fire Dept Car Seat Safety
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Car Seat save lives
Child Passenger Safety - 5 Step Test
The Inch Test
Rear-Facing Seat with a Seat Belt
Rear-Facing Convertible with Seat Belt
High-Back Booster Seat
Using a Backless Booster Seat
Child Passenger Safety - Harness Fit
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in Tennessee
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.
Deborah Tegano says
Question : what if the vehicle the child is riding in does not have a back seat, e.g., a pick up truck with no extended cab?
I have a pick-up truck with no back seat. There is a driver and passenger air bag. Sometimes I have to transport my 6-month old grandson. How can I do so safely?
Your grandson must be restrained in a rear-facing restraint. A rear-facing infant must never be placed in front of an airbag. However, most pick-up trucks have an air bag on/off switch. If your truck has the switch, turn off the air bag and move the vehicle seat as far back as possible. If you cannot switch off the airbag, use a different vehicle when transporting your grandson.
THIS IS AN INSERT FROM THE CALIFORNIA CAR SEAT LAW.