Quick (and disturbing) fact: the New Mexico Department of Health says that car accidents are the leading cause of death among car occupants aged 1 to 24.
Let’s put a stop to that. We’ve compiled all the info you need to keep your kids safe while you’re driving.
New Mexico Infant Car Seat Law
Infants who are under 20 pounds will remain in rear-facing/infant car seats until they are 12 months old. These seats have to be federally approved and with a 5-point harness system.
New Mexico Rear-facing Car Seat Law
New Mexico laws say that all children will travel in the rear-facing car seat until they are at least 1 years old and they will keep using the rear-facing seat as long as they are within the weight limit. The rear-facing seat have to be installed in the back seat of the car. If the vehicle does not have a back seat, or is occupied by other children under the age of 1, the child may ride in the front seat of the vehicle if the passenger-side air bag is deactivated if possible.
New Mexico Forward-facing Car Seat Law
According to the law, children are required to travel in an appropriate seat until they are 5 years old and 40 lbs. This seat can be a forward-facing or booster. The correct way to navigate is to keep using the forward-facing for as long as the child is within the limit set by the manufacturer.
Child Booster Seat Laws in New Mexico
The New Mexico law states all children from age 5 to 7 and 60 lbs. must ride in a booster seat. However, experts recommend that you keep using booster seats until the car seat starts to fit them perfectly. In some states, law requires you to keep using booster seat until the child is 13.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in New Mexico?
There is no age mentioned in the New Mexico law. However, we can follow the expert advice and best practices; it is safe for children to sit in the back seat until they are at least 13.
Leaving Child in Car Law in New Mexico
New Mexico has no laws that deal with the situation of leaving children in the vehicle alone. However, if the negligence causes harm to the child, it can become a crime.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in New Mexico?
It is illegal to smoke in a car with a child in it.
Taxi Car Seat Law in New Mexico
New Mexico doesn’t have clear rules on whether taxis are required to follow car seat laws.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in New Mexico
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
Good Car Seat Videos for New Mexican Parents
Why Use Car Seats
How to Install a Car Seat
How to secure your car seat
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Infant car seat installation
Rear-Facing Seat with a Seat Belt
Rear-Facing Convertible with Seat Belt
High-Back Booster Seat
Using a Backless Booster Seat
When a Child Can Move Out of a Booster Seat
Child Passenger Safety - 5 Step Test
Counterfeit Car Seats
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in New Mexico
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.