Did you know that in 2017, seat belt usage in Mississippi was at 78.8%, while the national average was 89.6%?
In 2015, seat belts saved the lives of 266 passengers in Mississippi, and 121 more lives could have been saved if everyone followed car seat safety laws.
Make sure to buckle up – for your safety and your kids!
Mississippi Car Seat Law
Section 63-7-301 of Motor Vehicles and Traffic Regulations deals with Child Passenger Restraints:
“Every person transporting a child under the age of four (4) years in a passenger motor vehicle, and operated on a public roadway, street or highway within this state, shall provide for the protection of the child by properly using a child passenger restraint device or system meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards.”
A fine of $25 will be imposed for violating this law.
Mississippi Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Mississippi law doesn’t specifically mention the usage of the rear-facing car seat but instead require the use of child safety “device or system“. According to experts, for children under 2 years old, this device or system is rear-facing car seat.
Mississippi Forward-facing Car Seat Law
After outgrowing the rear-facing seat, children should travel in forward-facing seats. Forward-facing seats must be used until the child outgrows the seat, and is ready to move to a booster seat.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Mississippi
Children who are between the age of 4 to 7 are required by law to use booster seats. According to law, a booster seat must be used if the child is under 4 feet 9-inch height and weigh less than 65 pounds.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Mississippi?
Mississippi law doesn’t mention any age when your child can sit in the front seat. However, By the law, you can’t place a rear-facing car seat in the front seat. For children, it is recommended by the experts to have them in the front seat after they have outgrown the booster seat and the adult seat belt fits them perfectly.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Mississippi
There are currently no laws regarding leaving children alone in a vehicle.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Mississippi?
Mississippi is trying to make it illegal – a bill presented failed to pass last year – so, as of now, it is not illegal to smoke in a vehicle with a child.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Mississippi
Child Restraint Laws in Mississippi are unclear whether taxis are supposed to follow these laws.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Mississippi
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
Good Car Seat Videos for Mississippian Parents
The Inch Test
Car Seat Safety
Child Passenger Safety - 5 Step Test
How to Install a Car Seat
How to secure your car seat
Infant car seat installation
Rear-Facing Seat with a Seat Belt
Rear-Facing Convertible with Seat Belt
High-Back Booster Seat
Using a Backless Booster Seat
Is it time to move from a booster to a seat belt?
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in Mississippi
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.