A study that collected data from 2012 to 2016 on Alaskan roads found car-related injuries the second biggest cause of injuries in all age groups.
In the United States, motor vehicle traffic-related mortality rates are highest for African-American and American Indian/Alaskan Native children.
While these stats paint a gloomy picture, the state of Alaska has passed some laws to make this situation better. We will take a look at some of the laws here.
Alaska Car Seat Law:
According to the section 28.05.095:
“A driver may not transport a child under the age of 16 in a motor vehicle unless the driver has provided the required safety device and properly secured each child as described in this subsection.”
A person convicted for violating this law may be fined up to $50. According to the law, it is also required that the violating person submit proof of acquisition of a safety device within 30 days.
Alaska Rear-facing Car Seat Law
The laws in Alaska requires that children less than one year of age or less than 20 pounds should be secured in a rear-facing seat. The American Academy of Pediatrics advises that children be rear-facing until they are two years old.
Alaska Forward-facing Car Seat Law
Children who are one or more years old but less than five years old and weigh 20 pounds or more are required by Alaska law to be properly restrained in a child restraint device. At this stage of a child's physical development, most manufacturers and experts advise utilising forward-facing car seats.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Alaska
Alaska Law requires children to use booster seat who:
- Outgrown forward-facing car seat.
- Over 4 years and less than 8 years of age.
- Under 4’9” or less than 65 lbs.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Alaska?
In Alaska, there is no age mentioned in law. Experts recommend that your child should sit in the front seat when the car seat belt fits them safely. For a safe fit, the seat belt has to lie snugly across the upper thighs, not the stomach.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Alaska
It is not illegal to leave a child alone in a car by law in Alaska.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Alaska?
According to Alaska Admin. Code 10.1085, any vehicle that is being used for transporting children should be smoke-free.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Alaska
Taxis are required to follow Child Passenger Safety laws by law in Alaska. (Source)
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Alaska
Good Car Seat Safety Videos for Alaskans
Phoenix Children's Hospital Car Seat Safety
How to Install a Car Seat
Resources for More Info on Alaska Car Seat Safety
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.