Did you know that Rhode Island’s seat belt usage is consistently lower than the national average?
But you can make a difference! Follow the state’s seat belt laws, and check out the other important safety info we’ve listed below:
Rhode Island Car Seat Law
According to the Rhode Island car seat law:
Any person transporting a child under the age of eight (8), less than fifty-seven inches (57”) in height and less than eighty pounds (80 lbs.), in a motor vehicle operated on the roadways, streets or highways of this state, shall transport the child in any rear seating position of the motor vehicle properly restrained in a child restraint system approved by the United States Department of Transportation per R.I.G.L. § 31-22-22(a)(1).
A violation for transporting a child without in a child restraint system lands $80 find and requires an appearance in court.
Rhode Island Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
All infants and toddlers who do not weigh more than 30 pounds and are under 12 months age, must travel in the rear-facing car seat or infant-only seats.
Rhode Island Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Toddlers who weigh less than 30 pounds and aren’t older than 2 years must travel in a rear-facing car seat.
Rhode Island Forward-facing Car Seat Law
All children who are at least 2 years of age and they have outgrown the rear-facing car seat should travel in the forward-facing car seat.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Rhode Island
Children who are under 8 years of age, shorter than 57” in height and less than 80 pounds in weight should be restrained in booster seats.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Rhode Island?
According to Rhode Island law, a child can’t sit in the front seat before the age of 8. A fine of $85 will be slapped for not following this law. However, this law is a minimum requirement and child safety experts recommend your child sit in the back seat until the age of 13.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Rhode Island?
There are currently no laws in Rhode Island for smoking in a vehicle with a child. However, secondhand smoke cause 7,330 deaths and from lung cancer and 33,950 deaths from heart disease each year.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Rhode Island
It is not clear in the law if taxis are required to follow child restraint laws. It’s worth remembering laws are usually minimum requirements. Taxis are like any other vehicle and you should make sure of your child’s safety whenever you travel.
Rhode Island Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
Rhode Island doesn’t have any law that deals with car seat replacement. You can follow NHTSA’s guidelines instead.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Rhode Island
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
Good Car Seat Videos for Rhode Islander Parents
The Michele and Brooke Ice Story
Car Seat save lives
It's time we all get it right
How to Install a Car Seat
How to secure your car seat
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Infant car seat installation
Rear-Facing Seat with a Seat Belt
High-Back Booster Seat
Using a Backless Booster Seat
Is it time to move from a booster to a seat belt?
Counterfeit Car Seats
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in Rhode Island
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.