Between 2003-2012, among children under the age of 20, Arkansas’ rate of death was almost double when compared to the national average. What if you could reduce that risk of a fatal injury? Wearing seat belts and age-appropriate child seats can help you keep your child safe.
Arkansas Car Seat Law
Arkansas has The Child Passenger Protection Act in place to provide guidelines on how to travel with child passengers. According to the section 27-34-104:
“Every driver of a motor vehicle who transports a child under fifteen (15) years of age, shall while the vehicle is in motion and operated on a public road, street, or highway, properly place, maintain, and secure the child in a child passenger restraint system properly secured to the vehicle and meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards.”
Failure to comply with this law can lead to a $100 ticket.
Arkansas Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
By law, children under the age of 24 months are required to travel in the back seat. You can use rear-facing, convertible or all-in-one car seats.
Arkansas Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Arkansas law provides us with the baseline safety rule: “A child who is less than six (6) years of age and who weighs less than sixty pounds (60 lbs) shall be restrained in a child passenger safety seat properly secured to the vehicle.”
As you can see there is no mention of the rear-facing car seat, we can follow child expert guidelines or height and weight limit mention by the car seat manufacturer. Most convertible seats have limits that will allow children to ride rear-facing for 2 years or more.
Arkansas Forward-facing Car Seat Law
As mentioned earlier, there is no mention of the forward-facing car seats in the law. However, children should ride in the rear-facing car seat as long as they fall within the limit described by the car seat manufacturer. After reaching the limit, they can ride in a forward-facing car seat.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Arkansas
According to Arkansas State Police, Highway Patrol Division, children should ride in a booster seat until they are 8 years old unless they are 4’9’’ tall.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Arkansas?
The law says that your child has to be at least 60 pounds and 6 years of age if you want to use the seat belts. It is always a good idea to make sure that the car’s seat belt fit is safe. Even if your child is older, you can still use booster seats until the car’s seat belt is a snuggly fit.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Arkansas
From 1998 – 2018, 17 children died from hot cars. In Arkansas, there are no laws regarding leaving children in cars alone. But there have been cases when parents were convicted for the deaths of children pertaining to neglecting behavior.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Arkansas?
Section 20-27-1903 of Arkansas Protection from Secondhand Smoke for Children Act of 2006 makes it illegal to smoke in the presence of a child.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Arkansas
Most taxis are exempt from car seat laws but they have to give enough time to install one if you have your own seat.
Arkansas Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
There are no laws regarding the replacement of the car seats after the accident. You can pass the cost to the other driver if he was at fault in the accident.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Arkansas
Good Car Seat Safety Videos for Arkansas Parents
How to Install a Car Seat
Infants in Rear-facing Seats
Importance of proper forward-facing child restraint installation
Resources for More Info on Arkansas Car Seat Safety
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.
Samantha Graff says
Is it illegal to use an expired car seat even if it’s safe for a child to use?