Between 2003 to 2012, 852 people died in car accidents in Delaware, but it’s a well-known fact that restrained children in rear seats had the lowest risk of dying in fatal crashes.
If you want to reduce the risk of harm to your child, make sure to follow the car seats laws in Delaware as well as recommendations from NHTSA.
Delaware Car Seat Law
Delaware laws are not very comprehensive when it comes to child seat safety. Occupant Protection System Safety Act reads:
"All children must be properly restrained in a federally approved child safety seat appropriate for the child's age, weight, and height up to 8 years of age or 65 lbs. whichever comes first." (Source)
Breaking this law can land you a fine of $25.
Delaware Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Delaware law does not distinguish between the forward-facing and rear-facing car seat or make any configuration mandatory. However, experts recommend that all the children under the age of 2 travel in rear-facing car seats. AAP recently updated their recommendation for the rear-facing car seat and according to them, children below 40 lbs. can travel in a rear-facing car seat.
Delaware Forward-facing Car Seat Law
As mentioned earlier, Delaware law does not distinguish between the forward-facing and rear-facing car seat; keep your children rear facing for as long as possible in either an infant or rear facing convertible seat. They should remain rear facing until the height and weight limit for rear facing use on that seat has been reached. After the child has reached the limit of rear facing car seat they can start using forward facing car seat.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Delaware
The laws enforce the limit of 65 pounds for booster seats. Sometimes laws are the minimum requirements and not aligned with the recommendations. Experts say that you should use a booster seat until your child is 80 pounds.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Delaware?
Your child has to be 12 or older to ride in the front seat. Or taller than 65 inches. "No child who is 65 inches or less in height and who is under 12 years of age shall occupy the front passenger seat of any vehicle equipped with a passenger-side airbag that has not been deliberately rendered inoperable in conformity with federal law. This subsection shall not apply to vehicles equipped with a passenger-side airbag specifically designed or modified by the vehicle’s manufacturer for use by children and small adults."
Leaving Child in Car Law in Delaware
Delaware has no laws regarding leaving children in the car. It’s always a good idea to leave the child with other children who are older than 12 or take them with you.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Delaware?
Smoking is not allowed in the vehicles that are being used for the transportation of children under the control of a daycare, school or other organisations. So, by law it not illegal to smoke in a private car with children in it.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Delaware
Taxis are not required to follow car seat laws in Delaware.
Delaware Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
There are no laws regarding car seat replacement after a crash in Delaware. Expert says you should always replace the car after a crash even if it wasn’t being used at the time of the crash.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Delaware
Good Car Seat Safety Videos for Delaware Parents
Car Seat Installation Tutorial
Car seat check: An easy guide
Resources for More Info on Delaware Car Seat Safety
Ambassadors of Safety Presents: Aubrey Klick, Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.
Leave a Reply