Each year, on average, car accidents take life of 16 children in Louisiana. This loss is preventable by following laws, regulations, and recommendations.
Did you know that in Louisiana there are more than 500 nationally certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians available to make sure of your child’s safety?
Louisiana Car Seat Law
Louisiana has the following law in place to make sure the safety of children:
“Every driver in this state who transports a child or children under the age of eighteen years in a motor vehicle that is in motion and is required by federal safety standards to be equipped with a safety belt system or lower anchors and tethers for children in a passenger seating position shall have the child properly restrained according to the vehicle and child safety seat manufacturer's instructions.”
A fine of $50 can be imposed for not following this law.
Louisiana Car Seat Law for Infant
According to the law, you should use infant seats for children under the age of 24 months. Infant seats must be placed in the back seat, away from the airbags. Airbags operate with too much force and it can be fatal for the child.
Louisiana Rear-facing Car Seat Law
According to Louisiana car seat law, the rear-facing car seat must be used until the child is 2 years old. A child has to ride in the rear-facing seat as long as they fall within the seat height and weight limit described by the car seat manufacturer.
Louisiana Forward-facing Car Seat Law
After the child has outgrown the rear-facing seat, which usually happens by age of 2, they can be put in a forward-facing seat. The law requires that you use the forward-facing car seat until the child is within the height and weight limit of the forward-facing car seat.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Louisiana
A kid must be restrained in a belt-positioning child booster seat, secured with a vehicle lap-shoulder seat belt, if he or she is at least four years old and has outgrown the forward-facing weight or height limits of the child restraint system as stated by the manufacturer.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Louisiana?
Any child under the age of 13 must be in a rear seat when available.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Louisiana
It is not allowed to leave a child unattended in Louisiana. There is a fine of $500 or imprisonment of up to 6 months for first offense, the second offense is punishable by $1000 and one year in prison. (Source)
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Louisiana?
Louisiana has made it illegal to smoke in a car with a child passenger. (Source)
Taxi Car Seat Law in Louisiana
Louisiana is one of those states where child passenger restraint system law doesn’t apply to taxis.
Louisiana Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
There are no car seat replacement laws in Louisiana. Federal institutes like NHTSA recommend that you replace your car seat if you have been in a major accident. Car seats also require replacing after they reach their expiry date.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Louisiana
Sergeant Josh Van Etta
Louisiana State Police – Troop C
4047 West Park Avenue
Gray, LA 70359
Phone: (985) 857-3680
Fax: (985) 857-3679
Good Car Seat Videos for Louisianan Parents
When a Child Can Move Out of a Booster Seat
Car seat check: An easy guide
How to Install a Car Seat
Safe Kids Worldwide guide on How to secure your car seat
How to identify Counterfeit Car Seats
Resources for More Info on Louisiana Car Seat Safety
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.
Leave a Reply