In the year 2018, 3,134 children, under the age of 14, had serious injuries in motor vehicle crashes. 34 of those precious souls died and car crashes cost the state some Arizona some $19 billion.
Arizona Car Seat Law:
According to section 28-907 of Arizona law:
“The operator of a motor vehicle that is designed for carrying ten or fewer passengers, that is manufactured for the model year 1972 and thereafter and that is required to be equipped with an integrated lap and shoulder belt or a lap belt pursuant to the federal motor vehicle safety standards prescribed in 49 Code of Federal Regulations section 571.208 shall require each passenger who is at least five years of age, who is under eight years of age and who is not more than four feet nine inches tall to be restrained in a child restraint system.”
There is a fine of $50 for violating this law.
Arizona Infant Car Seat Law
As described in 28-907A, all children under 8 years old must be properly secured in a child restraint system. For infants, this system will be the rear-facing car seat. It's worth noting that the rear-facing child restraint systems cannot be installed forward-facing or installed in the front seat or in front of active airbags.
Arizona Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Arizona law leaves it to the manufacturer to determine the limits of the rear-facing car seats. Experts recommend that children stay in a rear-facing seat until age 2.
Arizona Forward-facing Car Seat Law
If children start using forward-facing seats after reaching the maximum limit of the rear-facing car seat stated by the manufacturer, you will be in compliance with the Arizona forward-facing law.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Arizona
Although Arizona law mandates the use of a child restraint system until the child reaches the age of eight, booster seats can be used until the child reaches the age of fifteen. Rather than following the law's minimum requirements, it's a good idea to follow best practises. i.e., use the booster seat until the child is at least 4'9" tall. When your child has outgrown his or her forward-facing car seat, you can start using the booster seat.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Arizona?
Arizona State Law doesn’t specify when a child can legally sit in the front seat. However, vehicle manufacturers’ place warnings in their vehicles stating that children under the age of 13 years old should not sit in the front seat. There are exceptions to this exclusion that are reviewed on a case by case basis, however, rear-facing seats can never be placed in front of an active air bag and if a forward-facing seat must be installed in the front seat, in must be installed as far away from the air bag deployment zone as possible.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Arizona
Leaving a child in a car is not illegal in Arizona but as we all know that it can get very hot in Arizona. You can be charged with a class 6 felony for reckless behavior, and if your action results in an injury or death of the child, you can be charged with a class 4 felony.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Arizona
Taxis are not exempt from the car seat law.
Arizona Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
There is no specific law on car seat replacement after a car accident but it’s strongly recommended that you replace the seat after an accident. Car seats have a lifespan of 6 years. So, even if you are not in an accident, you are encouraged to replace the car seat after 6 years.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Arizona
Good Car Seat Safety Videos for Arizona
Raising Arizona Kids Car Safety Tips
Arizona Car Vehicle Booster Seat Safety Law by Glendale Arizona
How to Install a Car Seat
Resources for More Info on Arizona Car Seat Safety
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.