Unlike many diseases, car accident injuries are preventable and predictable. Between 2010 and 2014, 490 children died in Kansas because of unintentional injuries.
A car seat can be the difference between the life and death of your child. The purpose of Kansas laws is to save the lives of children. Following these laws has the potential to save your child from injuries and even death, and violating these law can set you back at least $60 plus court fee.
Kansas Infant Car Seat Law
Infant-only seats should be used for children under the age of 12 months according to Kansas law. These types of seats can only be placed in the back seat of the car.
Kansas Rear-facing Car Seat Law
According to Kansas law, rear-facing seats are to be used if your child is under the age of 4. You should use the rear-facing seat for as long as your child is within the weight and height limit mentioned by the seat manufacturer.
Kansas Forward-facing Car Seat Law
When your child outgrows the rear-facing car seat, you can graduate them to the forward-facing car seat. According to Kansas law, this can happen between the age of 1 to 4.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Kansas
Kansas law requires you to use a booster seat for your child after the age of 4. You can use the booster seat as long as your child is less than 80 pounds and not taller than 4’9”.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Kansas?
Kansas law doesn’t mention the age when your child can sit in the front seat. However, we can take guidance from the experts; keep your child in the booster seat for as long as they are comfortable. After being old enough to wear a car seat belt securely, they can travel without a booster seat and in the front seat.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Kansas
Kansas law is not clear about the private vehicles, but if you are into a daycare home business, you can’t leave children under the age of 10 alone in a vehicle without adult supervision. (Source)
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Kansas?
Kansas Indoor Clean Air Act doesn’t mention smoking in vehicles with children. It does mention that it is illegal to smoke in taxis. However, smoking is illegal in some parts of Kansas. You can refer to your local health department for more information.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Kansas
In Kansas, taxis are required to follow car seat laws.
Kansas Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
Kansas doesn’t have any laws that would guide you regarding new seats in case of an accident. The state wants you to refer to seat manufacturer for instructions. Also, there are many resources where you can find what to do in case of an accident like NHTSA’s guidelines.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Kansas
Good Car Seat Videos for Kansan Parents
Child Passenger Safety Booster Seat - Kansas
What to Do - Booster Seat PSA
Do I have to? - Booster Seat PSA
Counterfeit Car Seats
Having Trouble Installing Your Car Seat? Safe Kids Worldwide Can Help!
Safe Kids Worldwide: How to secure your car seat
American Automobile Association When a Child Can Move Out of a Booster Seat
Infant car seat installation
Resources for More Info on Kansas Car Seat Safety
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.