A properly secured child safety seat that is appropriate for your child's age, height, and weight is the best protection you can provide to your child on the road.
According to CDC, 128,000 children were injured in car-related accidents in 2016 and more than 700 of them died in those accidents.
A huge and unnecessary loss of precious lives can be reduced, and Georgia has a set of comprehensive laws in place to help prevent such losses.
Georgia Car Seat Law
According to law:
“Every driver who transports a child under eight years of age […] provide for the proper restraint of such child in a child passenger restraining system appropriate for such child's height and weight and approved by the United States Department of Transportation under provisions of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 213 in effect on January 1, 1983, or at the time of manufacture”(Source)
Georgia Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
Georgia law says that all children under the age of 12 months and under 20 lbs. must be secured in rear-facing car seats in the back of the car.
Georgia Rear-facing Car Seat Law
According to the Georgia car seat law, a child will travel in a rear-facing car seat if:
- They are less than 1 year old
- Weigh less than 40 pounds
Even if the child is older than 1 year, they will have to keep using the rear-facing car seat until they reach the weight limit.
Georgia Forward-facing Car Seat Law
Between the age of 1 to 3, when a child weighs 20+ lbs and less than 40 pounds, a child must travel in a rear-facing or forward-facing seat.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Georgia
According to the law, you should secure your child in a booster seat between the age of 4 to 8, 40 to 80 lbs. weight, and under 4’9” height. A booster seat is required to be used with a lap and shoulder belt.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Georgia?
It is required by Georgia law that all children under the age of 8 sit in the back seat of the car. You can have your child seated in the front seat after that age. However, this is law and not the best practice. Experts recommend that your child should in the back seat until they are 13 as back seat is the safest place for them.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Georgia
Georgia doesn’t have any law regarding leaving children alone in the car seat. It still is possible to get convicted for dangerous/careless behavior using other laws.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Georgia?
As of right now, it’s not illegal to smoke in a car with a child passenger. Although, Georgia is trying to change this via a bill. You can read the bill here.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Georgia
Taxis are exempt from the child restraining laws in Georgia. (Source)
Georgia Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
There are no laws regarding the replacement of car seats after an accident in the state of Georgia. You can look for instruction from the car seat manual. Accidents can be of different severity and usually, car seat manufacturers provide guidelines on what to do in case of an accident. You are also encouraged to follow NHTSA’s recommendation in case of an accident.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Georgia
Good Car Seat Videos for Georgia Parents
Buckle Up Georgia - Child Safety Seat Awareness
CHOP Car Seat Safety by Age
Child Safety Seats – Rear-facing Car Seats
Child Safety Seats – Forward-facing Car Seats
Child Safety Seats – Booster Seats
Car Seat Installation tutorial
Car Seat Safety
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Resources for More Info on Georgia Car Seat Safety
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.