Did you know that child car seat laws in Hawaii have a little tax incentive? You can get a tax credit of $25 per year for purchasing a child safety seat.
You can also get into trouble for not following the law. There is a maximum fine of $500. You will also have to attend a 4-hour class for violating these laws.
Car Seat laws in Hawaii
According to §291-11.5 of Hawaii Child passenger restraints:
“No person operating a motor vehicle on a public highway in the State shall transport a child under eight years of age except under the following circumstances:
(1) If the child is under four years of age, the person operating the motor vehicle shall ensure that the child is properly restrained in a child passenger restraint system.
(2) If the child is four years of age or older but less than eight years of age, the person operating the motor vehicle shall ensure that the child is properly restrained in a child safety seat or booster” (Source)
Hawaii Rear-facing Car Seat Law
According to law, all children who fall under the height and weight limit of rear-facing car seats must travel in them. The car seat should be placed in the back seat of the car. The American Academy of Pediatrics changed its rear-facing recommendation recently, and now children should ride in the rear-facing car seat until they are 40 lbs.
Hawaii Forward-facing Car Seat Law
Toddlers who are more than 1-year of age and weigh at least 20 pounds can ride in forward-facing seats, but it’s always recommended that you use rear-facing seats for as long as possible. It’s worth noting that using a forward-facing seat is step backward in terms of safety. So, make sure you use the rear-facing seat as long as the child is comfortable.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Hawaii
According to Hawaii Law: “If the child is four years of age or older but less than eight years of age, the person operating the motor vehicle shall ensure that the child is properly restrained in a child safety seat or booster seat that meets federal motor vehicle safety standards at the time of its manufacture”
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Hawaii?
Hawaii law requires you to have your child secured in the back seat until the age of 8. Although it is legal to sit in the front seat after that age, it is not recommended by experts. Car safety experts agree that the safest option is to have your child sit in the back seat until they are 13.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Hawaii
It is illegal to leave a child in a car unsupervised for more than 5 minutes in Hawaii.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Hawaii?
Smoking in a car while a child passenger is present, is a crime in the state of Hawaii.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Hawaii
Hawaii is one of those states that doesn’t make it mandatory for taxis to follow child passenger laws. (Source)
Hawaii Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
There is no law in Hawaii regarding the replacement of car seats in case of an accident but it doesn’t mean you should keep using the same seat after an accident. The reality is car seats aren’t made to withstand more than one crash, just like helmets, even if they look perfectly fine with the naked eye.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Hawaii
Carla Watai- (808) 491-9867
Claudia Hartz- (808) 491-9233
Good Car Seat Videos for Hawaiian Parents
How to Install a Car Seat
Car seat check: An easy guide
Car Seat Safety
General Safety Tips for Car Seats
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Use Car Seats and Avoid Regrets
Resources for More Info on Hawaii Car Seat Safety
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.
What age, weight, and height limit can you sit in the front seat?