What if you were to told that within the next 2 minutes, the time it will take you to read this article, almost 4 children would be involved in a car accident?
That’s right – according to the National Safety Council, one child gets into a vehicle accident every 33 seconds.
According to studies, a rear-facing seat is the safest place for the babies to be in. The state of Idaho, through Idaho Motor Vehicle law, wants to make sure that all the children on the road are traveling in a safe manner.
Idaho Car Seat Law
According to section 49-672 of Idaho Motor Vehicle law:
“No noncommercial motor vehicle operator shall transport a child who is six (6) years of age or younger in a motor vehicle manufactured with seat belts after January 1, 1966, unless the child is properly secured in a child safety restraint that meets the requirements of federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 213.”
There is a fine of $80 for violating this law.
Idaho Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Idaho Department of Transportation wants you to make sure that children under the age of 2 years travel in rear-facing car seats unless they exceed the weight and height limit set by the set manufacturer.
Idaho Forward-facing Car Seat Law
After the age of 4 and 40-60 pounds, children should travel in a forward-facing car seat until they reach the upper limit mentioned by the car seat manufacturer.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Idaho
Idaho Transportation department recommends that children from 4 to 8 years of age and 4’9” should travel in a booster seat.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Idaho?
In Idaho, there is currently no age limit for traveling in the front seat. Idaho Transportation Department and children safety experts recommend that your child can sit in the front seat when Lap belt lays across upper thighs, shoulder belt across chest, and knees bend at the seat edge. This usually happens around the age of 13.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Idaho
Idaho doesn’t have any laws in place regarding leaving children in cars unattended.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Idaho?
It is not illegal to smoke in a car with a child passenger.
Idaho Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
There are currently no guidelines in Idaho laws regarding seat replacement. NHTSA says that you don’t need to be replaced if the crash is minor.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Idaho
Good Car Seat Videos for Idahoan Parents
How to Buckle a Child into a Car Seat with a 5-Point Harness
Understanding Seat Belt Systems
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia: Car Seat Safety by Age
Car Seat Safety
Lee Memorial Hospital Car Seat Safety
NHTSA’s Installing a Car Seat Properly Tutorial
Infants Car Seat Installation
Resources for More Info on Idaho Car Seat Safety
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.