Did you know that 377 lives could have been saved in Utah from 2012 to 2016 if people were using car seat restraints?
You don’t have to be one of those negligent drivers! We’ve got some vital information on this page to help you do just that:
Utah Car Seat Requirements
According to laws in Utah, children under the age of 8 are required to travel in a “child restraint device” that is federally approved. Utah’s law doesn’t provide a lot of information on which seat should be used for different age groups. Luckily, there are a lot of great resources where you can find information on which seat is suitable for your child.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Utah
According to Utah law, children must ride in booster seats until age 8. It’s even safer to keep them in boosters until they’re 4 feet 9 inches tall, no matter their age. After securing the child ask yourself these 5 questions to make sure the seat is secure and fit.
- Does the child sit all the way back on the vehicle seat?
- Are knees bent comfortably at the edge of the vehicle seat?
- Does seat belt cross the shoulder properly? (it should be centered over the collar bone)
- Is the lap portion of the seat belt low – touching the thighs?
- Can the child stay seated this way for the entire ride, every ride (awake and asleep)?
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Utah?
According to the state of Utah, your child should keep using the back seat until they are 13.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Utah
In Utah, it is illegal to leave a child in a vehicle if that compromises their safety.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Utah?
It is illegal to smoke in Utah in the presence of a child who is 15 years of age or younger.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Utah
Utah law is not clear if taxis are required to follow child restraint laws. You should always stay on the safer side of things and use car seats while traveling in a taxi. There is no moral or legal ground for the driver to stop you from doing that.
Utah Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
Utah Department of Health says that a car seat doesn’t need to be replaced if it has been in a minor crash. Here you can find the criteria of a minor crash.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Utah
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
Good Car Seat Safety Videos for Utahn Parents
Zero Fatalities: Simple Steps to Child Passenger Safety
Select the Right Car Seat
Children Should Ride in the Back Seat
It's time we all get it right
How to secure your car seat
Is it time to move from a booster to a seat belt?
How to Install a Car Seat
Car seat check: An easy guide
Car Seat Safety
When a Child Can Move Out of a Booster Seat
General Safety Tips for Car Seats
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Counterfeit Car Seats
Child Passenger Safety - Booster Seats
Child Passenger Safety - Harness Fit
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in Utah
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.