According to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, in the United States, each year, 12,175 children die from unintentional injuries. Consistent and proper use of child restraints, buckling children into age- and size-appropriate car seats and booster seats, is the best way to ensure child passenger safety.
Maine Car Seat Law
According to Maine’s law, every child under the weight of 40 pounds requires a secure child restraint system:
“When a child who is less than 2 years of age is being transported in a motor vehicle that is required by the United States Department of Transportation to be equipped with safety seat belts, the operator must have the child properly secured in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions in a child safety seat.”
Violating this law is punishable by a $50 fine for the first offense.
Maine Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Maine law requires that children under the age of 24 months always travel in a rear-facing seat. If the child exceeds the height and weight limit set by the manufacturer, then he/she can travel in the forward-facing car seat.
Child Booster Seat/Forward-facing Seat Laws in Maine
After the child has exceed the weight limit of the rear-facing car seat recommended by the seat manufacturer, they can be secured in a forward-facing car seat. Children who are:
- Smaller than 4”9’
- Not older than 8 years
- Weigh between 40-79 pounds
are required to use a restraining system according to the manufacturer’s specifications. This restraining system can be a forward-facing seat or a booster seat. Maine law was recently updated to state that children weighing less than 55 lbs. need to be in a 5-point harness.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Maine?
According to the law, if your child is 12 years or older and weighs more than 100 pounds, it is safe for them to sit in the front seat with seat belt protection.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Maine
There is no law in Maine that would stop someone from leaving their child in a car unattended.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Maine?
It is illegal to smoke with child passengers in a vehicle according to a new Maine law.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Maine
Taxis are exempt from these laws but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t use child restraint system in taxis. Accidents can happen anytime and stats shows that most accidents happen within 10 miles of home.
Maine Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
Although it is not enforceable by law in Maine, the car seat should always be replaced after a major accident. Cracks can appear in the plastic of car seats that aren’t visible with eyes. Using a car seat that has already been in an accident is dangerous for your child’s life. Always dispose of the car seat that has been in an accident and use a permanent marker to mention that this car seat has been in an accident.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Maine
Good Car Seat Safety Videos for Maine
New car seat regulations in Maine
Maine | Car Seat Installation | Instruction Manual
How to secure your car seat
The Inch Test
Car seat check: An easy guide
Resources for More Info on Maine Car Seat Safety
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.
Sweet Peas Family Consignment says
I would like to know how to be able to be a carseat recycling/dropoff location. What information do you have for me to participate in this program?