Did you know that every day in the US one person is killed in a motor vehicle crash every 15 minutes?
Car crashes can deadly, but you can do a lot to make sure your children are safe. We’ve provided some important info below to help with that:
Ohio Car Seat Law
Section 4511.81 of Ohio law tells us that “when any child […] is being transported in a motor vehicle, […] the operator of the motor vehicle shall have the child properly secured in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions in a child restraint system that meets federal motor vehicle safety standards”
The violator of this will have to pay $25 fine.
Ohio Rear-facing Car Seat Law
According to the Ohio law, children who are less than 4 years old and 40 pounds will travel in a car seat that is suitable for their weight and height. It’s a best practice that a child travels in a rear-facing car seat until the age of 2 or until reaching the maximum height or weight of their convertible car seat.
Ohio Forward-facing Car Seat Law
After the child has outgrown the rear-facing car seat, a forward-facing car seat becomes the suitable car seat. Keep using the forward-facing for as long as the child is within the upper height and weight limit. According to the law, the forward-facing seat has to be used until 4 years age and weigh of at least 40 pounds.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Ohio
You can eliminate the use of the forward-facing car seat and replace it with a booster seat after your child has outgrown it. According to the law, children from 4 to 8 years, until they are 4’10”, should use the booster seat.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Ohio?
There is no age mentioned in the Ohio law regarding the front seat. According to law, children ages 8-15 must use a child safety seat or safety belt. However American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that if your child has outgrown the safety seat, they can travel in the front seat after reaching the age of 13.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Ohio
There are no laws in the State of Ohio regarding leaving children in the vehicle unattended.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Ohio?
Currently no; in the future maybe. Senate Bill 106 is proposed that would make it illegal to smoke when there is a child present under the age of 6.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Ohio
Taxis are exempt from child restraint laws in Ohio as mentioned in section 4511.81(a).
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Ohio
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
Good Car Seat Videos for Buckeye Parents
The Michele and Brooke Ice Story
Westerville Division of Fire Volunteers
Washington Township Car Seat Installation
It's time we all get it right
The Inch Test
Child Passenger Safety - 5 Step Test
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Counterfeit Car Seats
How to secure your car seat
Car seat check: An easy guide
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in Ohio
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.
I’m trying to find the Ohio law you cite in this article that states kids are required to ride in the back seat until 13 years of age. Can you please forward to me? Thank you!
Children of any age can ride in the front seat as long as they are properly restrained