Pennsylvania saw a decrease in car accidents in 2017 to 128,188 car crashes. If you think that sounds like a lot of car accidents, then you are absolutely right – 350 crashes every day! Which cost an estimated $1.60 billion in losses.
Luckily, we know exactly how to bring these numbers down. Research shows that when properly installed, child safety seats reduce the risk of fatal injury by 71% for infants and 54% for toddlers.
We’ve included some important safety info below to keep your children safe:
Pennsylvania Car Seat Law
“any person […] who transports a child under four years of age anywhere in the motor vehicle, including the cargo area, shall fasten such child securely in a child passenger restraint system, as provided in subsection (d)”
Pennsylvania Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
From birth to 2 years, children should travel in a rear-facing seat. Their height and weight should not exceed the limit set by the seat manufacturer
Pennsylvania Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Children under the age of 2 are required to be restrained in a rear-facing car seat that is made for the said age group. The child’s height and weight must be within the limit of the car seat.
Pennsylvania Forward-facing Car Seat Law
Children from age 2 to 4 are required to travel in car seats that could be rear-facing or forward-facing depending on the size and weight of the child. It is recommended by the experts that you keep using rear-facing seat for as long as possible and your child is within the height and weight limit.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Pennsylvania
A booster seat must be used, according to laws in Pennsylvania, when your child is between 4 and 8 years of age.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Pennsylvania?
According to the law, a rear-facing seat is not to be used in the front seat if the airbag is activated. Other than that, there is no age mentioned in the Pennsylvania law as to when your child can sit in the front seat. However, the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation recommends that your child should sit in the back seat until they are 13.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Pennsylvania
It is illegal to leave a child under the age of 6 unattended in a vehicle.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Pennsylvania?
There are no laws that would make smoking illegal in the presence of child passengers. However, it is a proven fact that secondhand smoke is very dangerous for the kids.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Pennsylvania
Taxis are required to follow the Occupant Protection laws in Pennsylvania.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Pennsylvania
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
Good Car Seat Videos for Pennsylvanian Parents
Car Seat Safety by Age: Booster Seat Safety from The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Car Seat Safety by Age: Toddlers in Forward-facing Seats (The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia)
Car Seat Safety by Age: Infants in Rear-facing Seats (The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia)
Car Seat save lives
Child Passenger Safety - 5 Step Test
How to Install a Car Seat
When a Child Can Move Out of a Booster Seat
General Safety tips for Car Seats
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Child Passenger Safety - Booster Seats
Child Passenger Safety - Harness Fit
Counterfeit Car Seats
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in Pennsylvania
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.