Did you know that according to Nevada State Police, 52% of the people who died in car-related accidents in 2016 were not buckled in?
CDC says that these accidents can cause Nevadans monetary losses of up to $356 million per year!
But it doesn’t have to be – buckle up and protect yourself and your children!
Nevada Car Seat Law
NRS 484B.157 of the Nevada State law deal with child car seat requirements:
“Any person who is transporting a child who is less than 6 years of age and who weighs 60 pounds or less in a motor vehicle operated in this State which is equipped to carry passengers shall secure the child in a child restraint system”
A max fine of $500 can be slapped for violating this law.
Nevada Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Nevada law doesn’t have a specific requirement for the rear-facing car seat. The person transporting the child is required to use a proper safety system which can be a rear-facing, forward-facing or booster seat depending on the age, height and weight of the child.
According to the Nevada Department of Transportation, use a rear-facing car seat through age 1 and until your baby reaches the seat manufacturer’s height and weight limits.
Nevada Forward-facing Car Seat Law
The same logic applies to the forward-facing seat. Keep your child rear-facing as long as possible. Then use a forward-facing toddler seat with a harness until your toddler outgrows that seat’s limits. This usually happens after 3 years of age.
Nevada Booster Car Seat Law
Once your child has outgrown the seat with a harness, use a booster seat until he or she is large enough for seat belts. Most laws in other states and child safety experts recommend using a booster seat until the age of 8. Graduate the child to seat belt only when it’s a proper fit i.e lap belt
should lie across the thighs, not the stomach. The shoulder belt should not cross the neck or face.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Nevada?
Nevada Department of Transportation says that your child should travel in the back seat until the age of 12. However, this is not a law but a best practice.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Nevada
It is illegal to leave a child under the age of 7 in a car unattended. A child can be a left unattended, in the company of a 12-year child.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Nevada?
There are no laws pertaining to smoking in the presence of a child passenger. However, it worth knowing what secondhand smoke can do to your child. There are more than 7000 chemicals and 70 of them can cause cancer.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Nevada
In Nevada, taxis are not required to follow these laws.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Nevada
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
To schedule an appointment call: 775-982-2620
Fees range from $10 to $25 dollars.
Families that have WIC, MED or NVCheckUp qualify for a $10 service fee, which includes the installation and a new car seat.
For families that don’t qualify have to pay a $25 service fee for the 1st installation. They provide their own car seat, any time after that they pay $10 per any additional installs.
They also work with certain agencies if families are not able to pay the fee.
Good Car Seat Videos for Nevadan Parents
Car Seat save lives
Child Passenger Safety - 5 Step Test
The Inch Test
How to Install a Car Seat
How to secure your car seat
Do I have to? - Booster Seat PSA
When a Child Can Move Out of a Booster Seat
Car seat check: An easy guide
Counterfeit Car Seats
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in Nevada
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.
I have a question about the nv, car seat law. I have a 11 1/2yr old who only weights 55lbs. Does he still have to be in a car seat?