Here’s a little good news: on average, people of Maryland use seat belts more than the national average!
Let’s keep that good news going – and out little ones safe - by following state car seat laws.
Maryland Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
Maryland law requires that children under 8 years old and shorter than 4’9” travel in a secure child restraint system. For children under 2 years old, this system would the rear-facing seat. You should always keep your children in the rear-facing as long as they fall within the height and weight limit of the seat announced by the seat manufacturer. Some newer rear-facing car seats are designed to accommodate children until they are 40 pounds.
Maryland forward-facing Car Seat Law
When a child exceeds the rear-facing seat’s height and weight limit, you can graduate them to forward-facing. It’s worth noting that forward-facing seat is a step back in terms of safety.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Maryland
As mentioned earlier, the law requires children under 8 years old and 4’9” travel in a secure seat. After the child has outgrown the forward-facing seat, they will travel in a booster seat. By law, a child who is four-foot, nine-inches or taller is exempt from the child safety seat requirement, however, you should keep using the booster seat until the seat belt is a secure fit.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Maryland?
Maryland law doesn’t stop children from traveling in the front seat. However, you can’t use the front seat with the rear-facing seat with the airbags activated. It can prove fatal for the children.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Maryland
It is illegal to leave a child younger than 8 years in a vehicle unattended.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Maryland?
Maryland has made it illegal to smoke in a vehicle with children in it.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Maryland
Maryland is one of those states that allows taxis exemption from these laws.
Maryland Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
Maryland law requires you to follow the manufacturer’s instructions in case of an accident. It doesn’t have laws that would make it mandatory to replace car seat in case of an accident.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Maryland
Good Car Seat Videos for Marylander Parents
Car Seat Safety by Age: Infants in Rear-facing Seats
Rear-Facing Seat with a Seat Belt
Rear-Facing Convertible with Seat Belt
High-Back Booster Seat
Using a Backless Booster Seat
How to secure your car seat
Do I have to? - Booster Seat PSA
Counterfeit Car Seats