According to Safe Kids Worldwide, car seats can reduce the chance of serious injury by 71%. Why not buckle up and reduce the risk?
Connecticut Car Seat Law
According to Section 14-100a:
“Any person who transports a child six years of age and under or weighing less than sixty pounds, in a motor vehicle on the highways of this state shall provide and require the child to use a child restraint system approved pursuant to regulations adopted by the Department of Motor Vehicles in accordance with the provisions of chapter 54”
Violating this law is punishable by $199 fine.
Connecticut Rear-facing Car Seat Law
The law says that children 2 or under and below the weight limit of 30 pounds should travel in a rear-facing car seat with a 5-point harness.
Connecticut Forward-facing Car Seat Law
According to Connecticut car seat law, a child will travel in a forward-facing car seat if they are:
- At least 2 years old
- weighs 30 or more pounds
After meeting these requirements, a forward-facing car seat will be used with a 5-point harness.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Connecticut
According to Connecticut car seat law, a child will travel in a booster car seat if they are:
- 5 years old and up
- weighs 40 or more pounds
You will have to keep using booster seat until the child is 8 years old and weigh 60 pounds. To graduate from booster seat, both of these requirements need to met.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Connecticut?
Connecticut law states, 8 years of age and more than 60 pounds weight, makes a child eligible for using the car seat belt and sit in the front seat. Although, you must be very careful in making sure the adult seat belt is a secure fit for the child. It’s always better to be safe than sorry.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Connecticut
You cannot leave a child in a car unsupervised in any condition, even if the car is in a turned-off state. (Source: CGS 53-21)
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Connecticut?
Connecticut is trying to make it illegal to smoke in a car with children through the bill HB06285. This bill is yet to pass, so, for now, it’s not illegal to smoke with a child passenger in the car. (Source)
Taxi Car Seat Law in Connecticut
Connecticut is 1 of 35 states that exempt taxis from child seat laws (Source). But the driver can’t stop you from using a child restraint system.
Connecticut Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
Connecticut law isn’t very clear with car seats that have been in car accidents. But it’s common sense to change the car seat if the car has been in a major crash. You never want to use a car seat again because its structural integrity has been compromised. In case of an accident, you should refer to the manufacturer’s manual for instructions.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Connecticut
Good Car Seat Safety Videos for Connecticut Parents
Connecticut Children's Car Seat laws
Safe Car Seat Installation
Car Seat Safety
Resources for Connecticut Car Seat Safety
New Car Seat Laws - What You Need to Know
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.