Unintentional injuries are the most common cause of death among children.
But there’s a simple solution: wearing a seat belt can increase a child’s survival chances by 75%.
So protect your child (or children) and buckle up! We have some info on this page that will help you do just that.
New Jersey Car Seat Law
39:3-76.2f of New Jersey law reads:
“Except as provided in P.L.1983, c.128 (C.39:3-76.2a et al.) for children under eight years of age and weighing less than 80 pounds, all passengers under eight years of age and weighing more than 80 pounds, and all passengers who are at least eight years of age but less than 18 years of age, and each driver and front-seat passenger of a passenger automobile operated on a street or highway in this State shall wear a properly adjusted and fastened safety seat belt system as defined by Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard Number 209.”
New Jersey Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
According to New Jersey law, from birth to the age of 2, children who weigh less than 30 pounds are required to travel in a rear-facing seat with a 5-point harness system.
New Jersey Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Children who are among the 2 to 4 years age group, who are less than 40 pounds will travel in a rear-facing car seat until they reach the upper limits of the seat.
New Jersey Forward-facing Car Seat Law
Age of 4 to 8 years and a height of less than 57 inches makes the child eligible for the forward-facing car seat, according to New Jersey law.
Child Booster Seat Laws in New Jersey
When children reach the upper limit of forward-facing car, they should travel in a booster seat that is secured properly.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in New Jersey?
The state of New Jersey says that your child can sit in the front seat after that are older than 8 year. However, it is not as simple as that. You should make sure that you’re the car’s seat belt is a secure fit. Some experts recommend that you keep your child in the back seat until they are 13.
Leaving Child in Car Law in New Jersey
Although there are no specific laws that govern unattended children in cars – it is still possible to get convicted for showing negligence towards children. A court ruled that leaving children unattended in a vehicle is child abuse.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, It is illegal to smoke in a car with a child passenger present.
Taxi Car Seat Law in New Jersey
Taxis are not exempted in New Jersey, and they are required to follow child restraint laws like all other vehicles.
New Jersey Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
New Jersey law wants you to refer to the seat manual for instructions on what to do when a seat have been in an accident.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in New Jersey
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
Hudson County Car Seat Inspection Station:
Open every Thursday, April through September
1st and 3rd Thursday of the month October through March
Time: 10:00 am – 2:00 pm
No appointment necessary
Good Car Seat Videos for New Jerseyite Parents
Union County - Child Safety Seat Mobile Inspection
The Importance of Car Seats
5-Steps to Make the Child Passenger Safe
The Inch Test
Car seat check: An easy guide
General Safety tips for Car Seats
How to Install a Car Seat
How to Install an Infant Car Seat
Rear-Facing Seat with a Seat Belt
When a Child Can Move Out of a Booster Seat
Counterfeit Car Seats
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in New Jersey
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.