Between 2008-2012, almost 850 children who were 14 or under died in motor vehicle accidents in North Carolina.
But you can make a difference to those statistics by keeping your children safe while driving. We’ve compiled a list of laws and safety info for North Carolinian parents to make sure your children are safe:
North Carolina Car Seat Law
North Carolina law says:
“Every driver who is transporting one or more passengers of less than 16 years of age shall have all such passengers properly secured in a child passenger restraint system or seat belt which meets federal standards applicable at the time of its manufacture.”
A fine of $25 is slapped for violating this rule but a fine is the last thing you should worry about. There are bigger things, such as your child’s safety is at stake.
North Carolina Rear-facing Car Seat Law
According to the law, keep your children in the rear-facing car seat for as long as possible. They should remain in the rear-facing car seat as long as they are within the height and weight limit of rear-facing car seat.
North Carolina forward-facing Car Seat Law
After your child reaches the height and weight limit of the rear-facing seat, graduate them to the froward-facing. However, it’s worth noting that using a forward-facing is a step back in terms of safety. Keep using the rear-facing for as long as possible.
North Carolina Booster Car Seat Law
A Booster seat will be used after the child has reached the forward-facing seat’s limits. Keep your child in a booster seat until the lap and shoulder belts fit properly, typically between 8 and 12 years old.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in North Carolina?
According to the North Carolina law, your child must sit in the back seat until they are 5 years old and weigh 40 pounds. However, this is not recommended as sit belt would not fit your child properly. People who are experts at child safety recommend that your child sit in the back seat until they are 13.
Leaving Child in Car Law in North Carolina
In North Carolina, there is no statewide law that would cover leaving children in vehicle. But there are some places like Greensboro who has made it illegal to leave children in car for any duration.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in North Carolina?
There is no law in North Carolina pertaining to leaving a child in a vehicle. Although there is no specific law addressing this issue, prosecutors can still file criminal charges under existing child endangerment laws.
Taxi Car Seat Law in North Carolina
Taxis are required to follow child restraint laws and they aren’t exempt like some other states.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in North Carolina
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
Good Car Seat Safety Videos for North Carolinian Parents
Wake County Car Seat Safety
Car Seat save lives
It's time we all get it right
How to secure your car seat
How to Install a Car Seat
Car seat check: An easy guide
Is it time to move from a booster to a seat belt?
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Counterfeit Car Seats
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in North Carolina
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.
Kathleen Napier says
The information under “Is it illegal to smoke in a car with a child in North Carolina?” says, “There is no law in North Carolina pertaining to leaving a child in a vehicle. Although there is no specific law addressing this issue, prosecutors can still file criminal charges under existing child endangerment laws.,” which does not address the topic at all. I would like to know the answer, please.
Gilberto Díaz-Castro says
Hello Sam, I’m looking for the actual site that talks about keeping kids in the rear seats until age 13; can you help?