Did you know that in 2016 there were 129,051 car accidents in Wisconsin? Out of those crashes, 588 people lost their lives.
But that certainly doesn’t have to be you! Follow the state laws and safety resources we’ve compiled on this page and keep you (and your little ones) safe:
Wisconsin Car Seat Law
According to Wisconsin law:
No person may transport a child under the age of 8 in a motor vehicle unless the child is restrained [..] in a safety restraint system that is appropriate to the child's age and size [...].
Wisconsin Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
Infants who are less than 12 months old and weight less than 20 pounds must be restrained for a rear-facing car seat.
Wisconsin Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Wisconsin law requires you to transport your child in a proper restrain system until they are 8 years old. According to Wisconsin Department of Transportation, less than 1 year old, or less than 20 lbs. must be in a rear-facing child seat in the back seat.
Wisconsin Forward-facing Car Seat Law
If at least one year old and 20 pounds, but less than four years old or 40 pounds, children must ride in the back seat in a forward- or rear-facing child seat.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Wisconsin
According to Wisconsin Department of Transportation, a booster seat must be used by children aged 4 to 8, who weigh between 40 and 80 pounds and are no taller than 4 ft. 9 in.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Wisconsin?
Wisconsin law doesn’t have an age number when your child can sit in the front seat, but the law does mention that you can’t place a rear-facing or forward-facing car seat in the front seat. Wisconsin government also mentions the safest practice on their official website; your child should sit in the back seat until they are 13 years old.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Wisconsin
There are currently no laws in Wisconsin that would prevent you from leaving children in the vehicle unattended. The AAP recommends that you leave a small child within the company of at least 12 years old child or take them with you.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Wisconsin?
Wisconsin has no laws regarding smoking in a car with a minor. However, we understand the effects of secondhand smoke very well. You surely don’t want your child to develop lung deceases or even cancer because of your smoking.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Wisconsin
No clear laws are present in Wisconsin regarding taxis and car seats.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Wisconsin
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
Good Car Seat Videos for Wisconsinite Parents
How to Properly Use Child Safety Seats in Wisconsin
The Michele and Brooke Ice Story
Car Seat save lives
Child Passenger Safety - 5 Step Test
The Inch Test
It's time we all get it right
How to secure your car seat
Is it time to move from a booster to a seat belt?
How to Install a Car Seat
Car seat check: An easy guide
When a Child Can Move Out of a Booster Seat
General Safety Tips for Car Seats
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Infant car seat installation
Rear-Facing Seat with a Seat Belt
Rear-Facing Convertible with Seat Belt
High-Back Booster Seat
Using a Backless Booster Seat
Counterfeit Car Seats
Child Passenger Safety - Booster Seats
Child Passenger Safety - Harness Fit
Select the Right Car Seat
Children Should Ride in the Back Seat
Car Seat Guidelines for Your Child
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in Wisconsin
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.
Whats the rule when traveling with a 5 year old in a front facing car seat, in a RV?