Did you know there were 161,393 car accidents in Kentucky in 2015? Many children’s lives were saved in those accidents because of proper use of car seats. Make sure your child is safe by following the laws described on this page!
Kentucky Seat Law
“Any driver of a motor vehicle, when transporting a child of forty (40) inches in height or less in a motor vehicle operated on the roadways, streets, and highways of this state, shall have the child properly secured in a child restraint system of a type meeting federal motor vehicle safety standards.”
There is a fine of $30 with no court cost for violating this law.
Kentucky Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Kentucky law requires any child who is less than 40” tall should be made to travel in a proper child restraint system.
Kentucky Office of Highway Safety translates this law like this:
You should keep your children in an infant seat until they are 20 pounds and 12 months.
Use a forward-facing seat after 20 pounds until the limit prescribed by the car seat manufacturer.
Kentucky Rear-facing/forward-facing Car Seat Law
When the child gets older than 2 year and outgrows the safety seat designed for children under 2 years, they have to use a forward-facing seat with a harness. By law, the age limit until you have to use a forward-facing car seat is at least 5 and the weight limit is 40 pounds.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Kentucky
In Kentucky a child will travel in a booster seat if:
- The child has outgrown the rear-facing/forward-facing seat
- They are less than 8 years old
- They are between 40” to 57” tall
If a child is older than 8 years old or over 57 inches tall, they are not required by law to ride in a booster seat.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Kentucky?
There is no age mentioned in the Kentucky law. However, the Kentucky Department of Transportation says that you should follow the best practice of keeping your child in the back seat until the age of 12.
Leaving Child in Car Law in Kentucky
In Kentucky, if a child is left alone in a car and dies as a result of negligence, it becomes felony manslaughter.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Kentucky?
Smoking with a child passenger isn’t illegal in the whole state. But there are places like Shepherdsville where smoking is illegal. (Source) You should check with your local health department for local laws.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Kentucky
There is no law exemption for taxis in Kentucky.
Kentucky Law Car Seat - Replacement After Accident
According to the official website of Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, you should replace your seat if you have been in a car accident. You are also required to replace the car seat after 6 years. NHTSA recommends that car seats should be replaced following a moderate or severe crash but do not automatically need to be replaced following a minor crash. You can also check with your insurance providers for replacement if necessary. Always read the manufacture’s instructions for both the car seat and the vehicle the car seat is being installed.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Kentucky
Good Car Seat Videos for Kentuckian Parents
American Automobile Association When a Child Can Move Out of a Booster Seat
How to secure your car seat Safe Kids Worldwide
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Boost ‘em in the Back Seat and Avoid Regret
Rear-Facing Seat with a Seat Belt
Rear-Facing Convertible with Seat Belt
High-Back Booster Seat
Using a Backless Booster Seat
Resources for More Info on Kentucky Car Seat Safety
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.
Leave a Reply