In 2018, North Dakota roads experienced one of the lowest fatalities figures in the past 10 years. Despite that, there were a total of 15,242 crashes, which took the life of 104 people. A huge loss of valuable souls.
A research article in Human Factors of Highway Safety published by Elizabeth Alicandri claimed that 94% of the deaths on Norths Dakota roads are because of human-centric errors. This finding corresponds with facts published by North Dakota State Government that 48% of drivers weren’t wearing seat belts, 32% crashes were alcohol-related, and 45% involved speeding.
We can do better! In this article we provide some useful and valuable information on how to keep your little ones safe in your car.
North Dakota Car Seat law
According to 39-21-41.2 of North Dakota law
“If a child, under eight years of age, is present in a motor vehicle, that motor vehicle must be equipped with at least one child restraint system for the child."
North Dakota Rear-facing Car Seat Law
After the child has outgrown the infant car seat, you can start using rear-facing car seat. Rear-facing seats should be used until is child is 2 years old, however, North Dakota department of health says that you use these seats for as long as the child is within the weight and heigh limit of the seat.
North Dakota Forward-facing Car Seat Law
From 2 years onwards, children can travel in the forward-facing car seat. Some forward-facing seats with a harness can be used up to 80 pounds, other seats can be used from 40 to 100 pounds. Your child can use the forward-facing seat as long as the child fall within the height and weight limit prescribed by the car seat manufacturer.
North Dakota Booster Car Seat Laws
When children have outgrown their forward-facing car seat, they should be secured in booster seats. North Dakota Department of Health recommends that a child should be at least 4 years and 40 pounds to travel in a booster seat. A booster seat can be used until the child is 4’9” and can be securely fit in the car’s seat belt.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in North Dakota?
Although there is no exact age in North Dakota law when your child can start traveling in the front seat, ND law says that the children who are taller than 57” or older than 8 years can travel without a car seat. After the child can securely fit in a car seat belt, they are ready to sit in the front seat. However, AAP and North Dakota Department of Health recommends that you use child seats until the age of 13.
Leaving Child in Car Law in North Dakota
There are currently no clear laws in North Dakota but it's possible to get charged with child neglect, a class C felony.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in North Dakota?
North Dakota has no laws regarding smoking when minors are present in the car.
Taxi Car Seat Law in North Dakota
No clear laws are present in North Dakota for using car seats in taxis. It is recommended you always use a car seat when you are on the road.
Places to Get Car Seat Help in North Dakota
Here are some resources that can help you with the car seat inspection and provide you further help.
Good Car Seat Videos
The Michele and Brooke Ice Story
Car Seat save lives
Child Passenger Safety - 5 Step Test
The Inch Test
It's time we all get it right
Cincinnati Children's How to Install a Car Seat
Michigan Medicine Car seat check: An easy guide
Car Seat Safety
When a Child Can Move Out of a Booster Seat by American Automobile Association
Resources for More Info on Car Seat Safety in North Dakota
With two kids of my own, I’m passionate about child safety! I’m a research nerd who’s on a mission to make the world a safer place for kids – starting with car seats!
To contact me directly please click here.